OFQUAL Regulated Certificate in TEFL

The OFQUAL Regulated Certificate in TEFL is at LEVEL 5 and is a flexible alternative to CELTA or Trinity College London Cert TESOL courses but enables you to study at your own pace and at times which suit you.This course is regulated by Ofqual (The Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation) this means that the UK government has approved the qualification, considering it equivalent to the following: a diploma of higher education (DipHE), a foundation degree, 2 years at university and the CELTA and Trinity CertTESOL qualifications.

Qualification Purpose

The 168 hour Focus Awards Level 5 Certificate in Teaching English as a Foreign Language (RQF) for those who wish to teach English to those who speak other languages. The qualification aims to develop knowledge and skills in a specialist area of teaching, allowing learners to teach English as a foreign language.


You are assigned a personal tutor as soon as you enroll, who will give you help and guidance through the course as well as mark your assignments and give you personal feedback.


This Course leads to an OFQUAL Regulated Focus Awards Level 5 Certificate in TEFL for successful learners.

Qualification Number 603/4150/6 on the OFQUAL Register

Entry requirements

All candidates should possess a first degree or equivalent and have at least two years teaching experience.

Candidates may hold other types of qualification to a degree demonstrating evidence of sustained academic study which would potentially enable the candidate to cope successfully with the requirements of the Certificate in TEFL.

Assessment Methods

The Focus Awards Level 5 Certificate in Teaching English as a Foreign Language (RQF) is internally assessed.

Each learner is required to create a portfolio of evidence which demonstrates achievement of all the learning outcomes and assessment criteria associated with each unit.

The main pieces of evidence for the portfolio could include;

  • Observed work
  • Witness statements
  • Audio- visual media
  • Evidence of prior learning or attainment
  • Written questions
  • Oral questions
  • Assignments
  • Case studies